Optional information in the social network
As well as the mandatory information we require, you can also enter additional information to make it easier for users to get to know you better and, for example, identify and select you as a suitable business contact.
- Business e-mail address and phone number
- Private interests
- Private contact
- Educational background
Your optional information is visible to all users in the social network after you enter it. In some cases, you can choose whether optional information should only be visible to certain users in the social network.
If you activate the "around you" feature with Bluetooth also activated, other XING users with this feature activated will be sought within a radius of 10 to 20 metres (depending on your device). This feature can act as a substitute for exchanging conventional business cards. To provide this feature, your profile details, including your name, company name, your job title and your photo are displayed to other users. We do not use Bluetooth permanently in the background and do not track your location.
You can retract most optional information at any time for the future by deleting the respective data in your profile. With your contact details and date of birth, you can decide on a case-by-case basis whether and to what extent this information should be visible for a particular user in the social network.
Period saved for
If you delete the data, it will be removed from the social network. We will erase the data in full when you delete your user account.